5 star fantasy books

The top half of this post is books not-yet-reviewed, and then the second part is links to my reviews. 

Not yet reviewed here

I just haven’t re-read since I started my blog.

  • Tigana – Guy Gavriel Kay
  • Watership Down – Richard Adams.  Yes, I know it’s about bunnies, but it’s awesome
  • The Last Hunt – Robert Jordan.  I think this has been my favorite of that series: before the cast of characters mushroomed out of control.  A bit of a nostalgia vote, because having loved the books starting in 1991, it’s hard to look at them the same now.   To be cold-hearted about it, the Wheel of Time probably topped out at 4.5 stars, but I don’t have a post for those yet.
  • American Gods – Neil Gaiman.  Contains one of my favourite rants of all time.
  • A Wind in Cairo – Judith Tarr.  Big sentimental vote, but I am very likely to demote it to a lower rank because while it may be a favorite book of mine, I can’t be positive it’s one of the best I have ever read.  Robin McKinley’s The Blue Sword is right at the same sort of level.  I’ll have to re-evaluate the writing and possibly re-rank.  So, even if it’s not a five-star, it is still one of my favourites.
  • Fool on the Hill – Matt Ruff. This was his first novel, written when he was just out of university, I think. An awesome contemporary absurdist fantasy with pixies, talking cats (Blackjack) and dogs (Skippy the Beagle), and the Rubbermaid. I named my cat Rags in honor of the character Ragnarok.

hmm, what else.  Probably a fair number of them

Five-stars WITH reviews

Alphabetical by title, but not counting ‘the’ as a word.

  • Beauty – Robin McKinley. Her first re-telling of the fairy tale is carefully-written and deserves reading, not just for a young-adult audience.
  • Below the Root – Zilpha Keatley Snyder. This young-adult book is the first in a trilogy. I adored this book when I was that age, though it’s not quite so good that you’d consider it grown-up reading too.  So: five-stars from ‘young me’ and four-stars from ‘current me’.
  • The City & the City China Miéville – intricate contemporary surreal mystery alternate world.  Two cities overlap each-other somehow… you could think of it as a metaphor for incompatible cultures or religions. Intellectually amazing, entertaining.
  • The Lions of Al’Rassan – Guy Gavriel Kay. Beautifully-written alternate-history (alternate world) fantasy set in the time of the spanish Crusades with El Cid.
  • Stars – edited by Janis Ian and Mike Resnick. An anthology of short stories by thirty authors, all inspired by the songs of Janis Ian (Grammy-award-winning folk-protest singer and songwriter).  This contains four short-stories that I rank at the ‘five-star’ level.  The ones I like best are sort-of crossover between science-fiction and fantasy: they’re in a contemporary setting, and there’s no ‘gizmo’ to cause the inexplicable occurrences, they just happen fantastically.
  • Voyages by Starlight – Ian R. MacLeod. An anthology of short stories by this author. Stunning variety of themes and voices.
  • A Game of Thrones – GRR Martin.  This, and/or its sequels, are riveting.
, ,

  1. #1 by Anne on July 4, 2011 - 3:27 pm

    I’m building out my summer reading list (a little late, I know), and am loving your lists!

    • #2 by Sandy M. on July 4, 2011 - 7:23 pm

      I’m glad you’re having fun with them. Picking up ideas from others’ lists has been one of my favourite things about the blogosphere.

Leave a Reply

