The Deed of Paksenarrion – Elizabeth Moon

Phew.  This filled up days and days worth of reading time.

The Deed of Paksenarrion is Elizabeth Moon’s first three published novels repackaged as a single six hundred thousand word volume.  I think I sprained my elbow (re)reading this thing.

Remember that I wanted to re-read this because the sequel was good? Well, I think I could tell that this was her earliest work. It was fun, but it dragged out a bit as I approached the end.  The final couple-hundred pages took me days to finish off, and I actually went to sleep one night with only seven pages left, and the next day started a Christopher Moore book.

Nonetheless, this is worth a read, especially if you are a fan of her other work.

As with her sci fi, she layers in a lot of engrossing detail about the minutiae of soldiering – ambushes, training, making camp, the feeling of chatter amongst soldiers. 

Anyhow, it starts off with Sheepfarmer’s Daughter, which was my favourite.  Feels like a training montage 🙂  The second one is pretty good, and the third, well that’s where I found it heavy going… I am not sure that it was the book’s fault that I slowed down, though.

Yadda, yadda. I can’t remember whether I missed recording anything else. Oh dear.  Anyhow, back later.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

