A Jumble of Spiraeas (via Secrets of a Seed Scatterer)

The leaves and flowers of Spiraea japonica, a ...

Image via Wikipedia

After my spirea rant about spirea from seed and from root-sprouting, I am taking a quick look around wordpress to see if anyone else mentions vigorously self-seeding spirea.

I like the following post – easy to read, informative.

I assume that my spirea is some variety of spiraea japonica.

Botanically, they’re spiraea; the common name is spelled Spirea without the extra ‘a’ — Bridal Wreath Spirea.Starting with the summer spiraeas, which caused me to think of this post, is Spiraea japonica and its hybrids, Spiraea x bulmalda. All are low summer bloomers with pink flowers. ‘Goldmound’ ‘Goldflame”Limemound’ ‘Anthony Waterer’ and ‘Coccinea’ are a few familiar names. I pruned my S. bulmaldas, nameless cuttings given me some years ago, … Read More

via Secrets of a Seed Scatterer

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

