Friday Finds @Bibliophage’s Book Buffet |May 13

{{Friday Finds is hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading }}

The Margarets
How to Live Safely in A Science Fictional Universe
 The Very Best of Fantasy & Science Fiction    
  • The Margarets – By Tepper, Sheri S.  I tag-surfed over to brainfluff and found a lot of reviews of books I like, and the blog’s using  the same theme I had until two months ago! Small world.  Anyhow, I also am a fan of Sheri Tepper, so this goes on my list.
  • How to Live Safely in A Science Fictional Universe– By Yu, Charles.  Undermyappletree says that this is an SF-time-travel book which focuses on the human issues. The timelines are completely not linear – important characters choose to live ‘achronologically’.
  • The Very Best of Fantasy & Science Fiction 60th Anniversary – Anthology.  Hm… I was tracking down works by a particular author, but now I don’t recall who it was.
  • 84, Charing Cross Road – By Hanff, Helene. A book created of a series of trans-atlantic letters spanning years – I saw a review at reading fuelled by tea.  I’m not sure whether this is fiction or real correspondence, but I love the phrase ‘epistolary novel’.  I also would like to say that my garden is there for slugs to eat; but, slugs don’t like thistles or horsetail rush ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
  • Lilith’s Brood– By Butler, Octavia E. This is going to be the June book in the wsf book club – going to get a head start.  If I want first to finish the 8 or so books physically waiting on my TBR shelf, I’d best get a move on.
, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by salmeida on May 13, 2011 - 8:35 am

    I read about 84, Charing Cross Road somewhere this week as well … I think I need to add this book to my TBR pile as well!

    • #2 by Sandy M. on May 13, 2011 - 4:06 pm

      Yes, it sounds different and interesting!

  2. #3 by readingwithtea on May 13, 2011 - 9:09 am

    Hi, thanks for linking back to Reading, Fuelled by Tea! 84 Charing Cross Road is real correspondence over nearly 20 years, which was then published in novel form. It’s very short – only about 100 pages. The sequel (which I am reviewing very soon) is the story of when the American author then does finally get to London and the two should be read together, I think.
    Hope you enjoy it!

    • #4 by Sandy M. on May 13, 2011 - 10:33 am

      Hm, I hope the copy I’ve ordered has both books together. My library had it categorized as ‘fiction’ and under ‘epistolary novels’… though maybe those were user tags.

      I’m looking forward to reading it. I remember using caps for EMPHASIS ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. #5 by Kat on May 13, 2011 - 12:54 pm

    Interesting finds – I may have to add several of these to my TBR list! I’m reading an Octavia E. Butler book right now…and I’m loving it ๐Ÿ™‚

    • #6 by Sandy M. on May 13, 2011 - 4:12 pm

      I am looking forward to it! I am not sure whether I’ve read anything by her before – none of her novel names listed on wikipedia look familiar to me. Maybe I have read some short stories.

Leave a Reply

