Welcome visitors from Armchair BEA 2011

Welcome first-time visitors, via the Armchair BEA convention, or by chance!

You have reached Bibliophage’s Book Buffet.

I’m your host, Sandy, also known here as the Bibliophage.

I blog usually from small-town Ontario, in the vicinity of Hamilton or Toronto, Canada.  Reading, and these days blogging, is strictly a hobby.  I work as a technology consultant; and when time and casting allow, act in amateur theater.

WHICH books do I choose?  As a recreational blogger, I pick books largely ‘for fun’, in science fiction and fantasy.  Other than speculative fiction, I read mystery and very occasionally non-fiction.  Sometimes I’ll sprinkle in a review of a young-adult book, if I’ve borrowed it from one of my sons.

WHAT do I look for? Whatever the genre, I look for characters in a world that I can see and enjoy in detail.  Characters should change and grow, and be complex and ambiguous. I like to get caught up in the story, whether it’s suspense, action, romance, or a combination.  Even better, if the book pulls me in and gets me emotionally involved. Not that I want to be gratuitously weepy ;).  Last, but not least important, I love it when the book makes me think. Whether it’s an emotional dilemma, or a speculative ‘imagine if’ that happened, or innovative elegant writing, and/or loads of subtext that draws me in to hunt for metaphors or themes.

.~.~.~—‘-‘—–.~.~.

HOW do I review? I am very stingy in granting stars to reviewed books; on the other hand, I avoid books if I think they won’t be better than literary junk food. But, I do love a lot of junk food.

WHY do I blog?  It all started out very innocently – I wanted to keep track of the books I was reading.  I like reading and commenting on other people’s reviews of books that I also have read. Gradually I got seduced by the thrill of flaunting my opinions in public.  Bwa ha ha.

My Armchair for BEA is a patio chair facing the Pacific.  I hope to meet up with new Book Bloggers and compare opinions on books we enjoy.


Armchair BEA Central: Kicking Off Armchair BEA!
.

,

  1. #1 by Col (Col Reads) on May 23, 2011 - 5:48 pm

    I love the title of your blog! I’m also a “strictly for fun” reader, which does seem to lead to a wide range of books!

  2. #2 by laurelrainsnow on May 23, 2011 - 6:48 pm

    Oh, you’re so lucky to be close enough to the Pacific to face it when reviewing. I’m two-and-a-half hours from the Pacific.

    Thanks for visiting my blog….I like the look of yours.

    • #3 by Sandy M. on May 24, 2011 - 1:45 pm

      I’m enjoying it as much as possible this week. Then, back to Ontario.

  3. #4 by Susan (Bloggin' 'bout Books) on May 23, 2011 - 6:51 pm

    Glad to have found you via Armchair BEA! I’ll be back often …

  4. #5 by Bookfool, aka Nancy on May 23, 2011 - 8:29 pm

    I don’t seek gratuitous weeping, either, but I know what you mean. A book in which one becomes emotionally invested is almost always a genuinely fine read. Happy Armchair BEA!

    • #6 by Sandy M. on May 24, 2011 - 1:44 pm

      Hey, that’s a good phrase – emotionally invested. The best books are the ones that draw you in for read after re-read, and ‘get’ you every time.

  5. #7 by Rebecca Georgsson on May 23, 2011 - 8:43 pm

    I started my blog for the same reason. 🙂 I’m very glad I did as well, because I’ve met some wonderful people out there in the blogosphere! Real excited about BEA!

    Nice to meet you!

    Rebecca @ kindle fever

  6. #9 by AlisonCanRead on May 23, 2011 - 10:41 pm

    Welcome to Armchair BEA! I am not too stingy with stars, mostly because I tend to pick books that I think I’ll like.

  7. #10 by Leslie on May 26, 2011 - 8:11 pm

    Science fiction is my pleasure reading too. I’m enjoying learning more about the people behind the blogs this week.

    I like your patio chair facing the pacific… mine faces the apple tree in my backyard!

  1. Armchair BEA: “Best of 2011″ | Fade into Fantasy

Leave a Reply

