WWW Wednesdays @Bibliophage’s Book Buffet |May 25

  • Cover for 'The Tinkerer's Daughter'I’m currently reading The Tinkerer’s Daughter by Jamie Sedgwick from  Smashwords.com, as well as The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss. It’s a re-read, so it’s taking a little while to build momentum.
  • Finished and reviewed The Fourth Stall  earlier this week.
  • Up next: not sure? Wait, oh, silly me, the whole reason I am re-reading Name of the Wind is so that I am freshly ready to read the sequel. So, that’s next – The Wise Man’s Fear, by Patrick Rothfuss.

WWW Wednesdays (May 11) To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions… • What are you currently reading? • What did you recently finish reading? • What do you think you’ll read next? … via Should Be Reading


, , ,

  1. #1 by Kate on May 25, 2011 - 2:44 am

    That’s about the fourth time I’ve heard (read) someone talking (writing) about The Name of the Wind this week. I think the universe might be trying to tell me something. Recommended? (well, if it’s a re-read, I guess you like it!)

    • #2 by Sandy M. on May 25, 2011 - 8:45 pm

      Yes, I do recommend it. The structure is a little unusual – largely it’s told as a narrative, about things that happened ‘before’. So, the first time through (and the second time through) it is a little slower to start.

      Oh, and the very first chapter? Three kinds of silence?! That was just trying a little TOO hard to be artistic. The writing settles down after that, don’t let it turn you off what is eventually an enjoyable beginning to an epic.

  2. #3 by Carol on May 25, 2011 - 2:09 pm

    One of my real life friends was just telling me last weekend that I need to read The Name of the Wind. He loved it.

    • #4 by Sandy M. on May 25, 2011 - 8:46 pm

      Yes, I was pointed at the book originally by a buddy at work. I fun-mocked him too often for how many days it was taking him to read Tad Williams’ Otherlands.

  3. #5 by vintage bookshelf on May 25, 2011 - 5:22 pm

    The Tinkerer’s Daughter, now that is an interesting title, here is my www wednesday
    http://vintagebookshelfblog.blogspot.com/2011/05/wwwwednesday-25th-may.html

  1. WWW Wednesdays What are you Reading UPDATED « Post A WEEK 2011 | Wordpress Challenge

Leave a Reply

