Friday Finds @Bibliophage’s Book Buffet | June 3

{{Friday Finds is hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading }}

The Bird Sisters
The Sugar Queen
Lilith's Brood
  • The Bird SistersBy Rebecca Rasmussen. Under My Apple Tree gave an enthusiastic, five-star review to the Bird Sisters.  My library summary says ‘Rasmussen’s heartbreaking yet hopeful debut novel chronicles the terrible toll of sacrifice and the incredible, redemptive power of life through the experiences of sisters Milly and Twiss.’   So, that sounds like some quality fiction!
  • The Sugar Queen – By Sarah Addison Allen.  Janicu pointed out a magic realism theme in her positive review of the book, which helps to sell me on it. If it were merely contemporary fiction with a touch of romance, I would be less likely to investigate.

  • Adulthood Rites (Lilith’s Brood 2) – By Butler, Octavia E. The middle book of this month’s ‘Women of SF’ Reading Challenge.
~-~-~-=-=-=-=-{+}-=-=-=-=-~-~-~
Browse my past Friday Finds on the Book Buffet.
~-~-~-=-=-=-=-{+}-=-=-=-=-~-~-~

How to play:  What great books did you hear about/discover this past week? Share with us your FRIDAY FINDS!  PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Friday Finds post, or share your ‘finds’ in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks! {{from MizB of Should Be Reading}}

, , ,

  1. #1 by Anette on June 3, 2011 - 8:54 am

    Hello Sandy! I’m so happy to get a visitor all the way from Canada on my blog 🙂 The Sugar Queen is the most wonderful book I’ve ever read, you’ve just got to read it too!! The other two books you are presenting are new to me, but I will most definately find out more about them!! All the best and a wonderful weekend-wishes from Norway 🙂

  2. #2 by carabossesbakeshop on June 3, 2011 - 12:08 pm

    Ooh, The Bird Sisters, I’ve been dying to read that one.

    Here’s mine:
    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2011/06/friday-finds.html

  3. #3 by Popin on June 3, 2011 - 2:31 pm

    I’ve been wanting to read Sugar Queen for awhile now. Love the cover for The Bird Sisters.

    ~ Popin

    You can check out my finds here

  4. #4 by Leslie on June 4, 2011 - 7:11 pm

    Thanks for the link. The Bird Sisters is definitely quality fiction.

    I’m going to try and read Lilith’s Brood for this month’s discussion.

    • #5 by Sandy M. on June 8, 2011 - 1:56 pm

      I finished up Lilith’s Brood during the past week. Wow, that was different. I think I’ve been neglecting SF because romantic/urban fantasy is so easy to find recently. I am looking forward to the discussion.

Leave a Reply

