WWW Wednesdays @Bibliophage’s Book Buffet |June 8

{{WWW Wednesdays is hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading }}WWW Wednesdays

What’s Current – I’m currently reading Fragile things by Neil Gaiman – an anthology of short stories “with poems thrown in for free”.  I am not sure whether they’re all meant to be creepy/horror, but that’s what they have been so far. The hardcover is stunning – this image doesn’t do it justice.  The title and robin’s egg are printed on a translucent jacket, and the other images are seen through that.  The endpapers are the matching blue.

What’s done – Finished a trio of books since last week. Adulthood Rites and Imago by Octavia Butler, and Dark Angel by Charles de Lint.

What’s next –  review the 2 books of the Kingkiller Chronicles, and get ready for the Women of SF discussion of the Octavia Butler books!

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions… • What are you currently reading? • What did you recently finish reading? • What do you think you’ll read next? … via Should Be Reading

~-~-~-=-=-=-=-{+}-=-=-=-=-~-~-~
Browse my other WWW Wednesdays on the Book Buffet.
~-~-~-=-=-=-=-{+}-=-=-=-=-~-~-~
, , ,

  1. #1 by TheBookGatherer on June 8, 2011 - 11:03 am

    Fragile Things looks interesting. I’ve got into reading short stories at breakfast, leaving my “real books” for the evening, but not sure creepy/horror stories would go down well with my weetabix!! 😉

    Here’s my WWW:
    http://thebookgatherer.blogspot.com/2011/06/www-wednesdays_08.html

  2. #3 by carabossesbakeshop on June 8, 2011 - 11:16 am

    I loved fragile Things when I read it months ago. Yeah, they’re pretty creepy.

    Here’s mine:
    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2011/06/www-wednesdays_08.html

    • #4 by Sandy M. on June 8, 2011 - 12:27 pm

      A while back, I read a different collection of his stories that was not so thoroughly creepy. Now I totally can’t remember its name, and it was pre-blog, so who knows.

      Thanks for visiting.

  3. #5 by Kati R on June 8, 2011 - 11:53 am

    Interesting books.

    Here’s Mine

    • #6 by Sandy M. on June 8, 2011 - 12:19 pm

      Yes, interesting. Octavia Butler is a new author to me, and these were really… different. And, Neil Gaiman is often thought-provoking.

  4. #7 by Mickey@imabookshark on June 8, 2011 - 12:46 pm

    Your books sound interesting. Thanks for visiting my blog! No, those weren’t all from last week. I was out the week before so I got to add a bunch of stuff that I finished! 🙂

    Mickey @ imabookshark

  5. #8 by Amy on June 8, 2011 - 12:51 pm

    Great list, I’m definitely checking out Fragile Things! 🙂

  6. #9 by Cheryl "Mash" on June 8, 2011 - 1:22 pm

    It looks like you had a very productive week of reading. Good for you. I am in a bit of a slump. 😦 Thank you for stopping by my place.

    • #10 by Sandy M. on June 8, 2011 - 1:42 pm

      Well, I read a lot, but very few reviews are done. And they are generally very review-worthy 😦

  7. #11 by BermudaOnion on June 8, 2011 - 1:50 pm

    I’ve only read 2 of Neil Gaiman’s books but I enjoyed both of them. I bet this is good!

    • #12 by Sandy M. on June 8, 2011 - 1:53 pm

      Oh, it definitely is. Ghoulish, but good.

  8. #13 by Shaunesay on June 8, 2011 - 11:46 pm

    You know I still haven’t read a Neil Gaiman book! I need to, I have several of them!

    Here is my WWW if you’d like to visit!

    • #14 by Sandy M. on June 9, 2011 - 12:04 am

      I do prefer his novels vs the stories – the YA stuff is quite good, while American Gods & Anansi Boys are both astounding. Neverwhere just doesn’t quite work for me…

      thanks for visiting, and love your www!

Leave a Reply

