WWW Wednesdays @Bibliophage’s Book Buffet |June 15

{{WWW Wednesdays is hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading }}WWW Wednesdays

What’s Current – I’m still currently reading Fragile Things by Neil Gaiman. The last piece in the book is a follow-up novella starring Shadow from American Gods.  Here’s a summarized joke: The Texan says to the Scotsman: ‘After breakfast, I get in my car and put my foot down on the gas pedal and start driving.  By lunch, I still haven’t reached the edge of my property.’ Scotsman: “Och aye, I used to have a car like that too’.  Remember,  this is an anthology of short stories “with poems thrown in for free”.

And, I read something free from Baen.  It was…

What’s done – It’s been SF week! C.J. Cherryh’s Conspirator, Catherine Asaro’s Primary Inversion.  Get that second one for free, I linked it in my review.

What’s next –  I discovered I hadn’t returned C.J. Cherryh’s Deceiver to the library after all! And, I will only be 4th in line for the newest book, Intruder! Yay for Bren-ji.  Also, post more reviews 😛

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions… • What are you currently reading? • What did you recently finish reading? • What do you think you’ll read next? … via Should Be Reading

~-~-~-=-=-=-=-{+}-=-=-=-=-~-~-~
Browse my other WWW Wednesdays on the Book Buffet.
~-~-~-=-=-=-=-{+}-=-=-=-=-~-~-~
, , ,

  1. #1 by Amy on June 15, 2011 - 9:26 am

    Great picks! 🙂

  2. #2 by Shannon McGee on June 15, 2011 - 11:23 am

    I read American Gods and we have Fragile Things and Anansi Boys that I hope to someday read. I do like Gaiman short stories better then most others.

  3. #3 by Alison on June 15, 2011 - 11:25 am

    Good picks!

  4. #4 by A Damned Conjuror on June 15, 2011 - 12:45 pm

    I’ve been meaning to read C.J. Cherryh

    if you didn’t already know you can get a lot of free Baen books at http://baencd.thefifthimperium.com/ although most of them are military SF which isn’t really my thing but they do have the complete Miles Vorkosigan

    • #5 by Sandy M. on June 16, 2011 - 5:33 pm

      Ah, thanks for the tip. The baen site itself has lots too, which is where I found Primary Inversion this time.

      Cherryh has so many different writing styles (or, perhaps you would say she writes in many genres). Anyhow, you can probably find something in the spec-fic speciality of your choice.

  5. #6 by Lady Kell of Kincavel on June 15, 2011 - 12:55 pm

    I love Neil Gaiman, so I might have to give that one a try.

    Further to your comment on my blog re reading for 12-y-o boys, your son might enjoy Alex Scarrow’s TimeRiders series (Simon Scarrow’s brother). I’ve only read the first one, but it’s very good and I have the second one ready to read too.

    He might also enjoy the Barnaby Grimes books by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell, although I’d say he’s perhaps heading towards the higher end of their target market.

    Has he read any of The Saga of Darren Shan by Darren Shan? They’re pretty decent too. Start with Cirque Du Freak and go on from there… There are twelve in the series ,so they should keep him busy for a while. There’s also the Demonata books (10 of them) by the same author.

    Anthony Horowitz is another author I recommend for teens, especially boys. the Power of Five books are espcially good and his Alex Roder series is very popular too.

    Rick Riorden is also worth checking out. I’ve enjoyed his Percy Jackson series immensely and he has others that look equally good.

    Finally, I heartily recommend the Skulduggery Pleasant books by Derek Landy – there are 6 so far and I think there’ll be more to come. Excellent stuff. 🙂

    Hope I’ve managed to come up with a few new ones for your son to enjoy. i know boys can sometimes be a little more difficult to cater for once they get to that in-betwen stage and I’m anticipating it early (my son’s 2 1/2) by building a collection in advance for him to enjoy – LOL!

    • #7 by Sandy M. on June 15, 2011 - 1:25 pm

      Thank you for taking the time to put together the recommendations! I know he’s read all the Riordans, a number of the Horowitz, and maybe TimeRiders. I’ll hunt down some of each of the others – because if my 12y won’t read them, my 10y still might.

  6. #8 by Bev on June 16, 2011 - 3:43 pm

    Sounds like a good list! I haven’t read a Cherryh book in a very long time…might be time to do another.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    • #9 by Sandy M. on June 16, 2011 - 5:45 pm

      The Foreigner series might be an acquired taste, but if it works for you there are thousands of pages to enjoy!

      I do not recommend starting in the middle of one of the trilogy arcs, if it’s been a long time since you read any of the series. There are SO many alien names and places, you may lose your mind keeping them straight.

  7. #10 by therealsharon on June 16, 2011 - 4:09 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    That Texas/Scotsman joke is funny! 🙂

    • #11 by Sandy M. on June 16, 2011 - 5:29 pm

      I’m the only person in my family who thinks it’s funny 😛

      but it made me laugh, so ha!

  8. #12 by Rockie on June 16, 2011 - 4:55 pm

    Thank you for visiting my blog! You have some awesome picks! 🙂

    *~` http://rockielove.blogspot.com `~*

  9. #13 by Kati R on June 16, 2011 - 6:49 pm

    Thanks for stopping by and checking out my WWW post! Haven’t heard of any of these books but will have to check them out. Thanks!

  10. #14 by Marie on June 23, 2011 - 10:13 pm

    Great picks! I’ve heard of the Neil Gaiman book but have never heard of C.J. Cherryh. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

