Versatile blogger award goes to… Bibliophage’s Buffet?

The Versatile Blogger AwardA very pleasant shock this past Friday –

I get comments rarely, and today’s note contains a virtual kudo:  the “Versatile Blogger Award.” Shannon, over at For the Love of Words sent this my way. Thanks Shannon!!

The rules:

1. Thank and link the person who nominated you. (see above, and check)

2. Share seven random facts about yourself. (see below)

3. Pass this award on to 15 blogging friends. (see The Winners)

4. Contact and congratulate the awarded bloggers. (well, this may take some time… It’s like writing 15 thank-you notes!)

Well, I hope none of the following folks are too creeped-out or offended that I’ve been following/reading your blogs. I assume you’ll be fine with it, since you’re posting in public and all that. 🙂  As Shannon commented, it seems a little creepy to award professional, established authors with this virtual trinket… but if I were braver, Kris Rusch would be finding this green award in her inbox. Oops, backtracking quickly, if any of y’all ARE professional-established authors, don’t be insulted.  Your blogs have made me feel right-at-home: I didn’t realize you’re one of those lucky-gifted few.

Bibliophage names: New Recipients of the Versatile Blogger Award

I don’t know any of these folks, but I’ve been following quietly, sporadically, for months. Everyone I’ve listed has an interesting blog that has opened my eyes to something new, intriguing, inspiring, thought-provoking, beautiful, etc.  Excepting only Lynn’s photo-blog, I discovered everyone here through their book reviews or book commentary. Some have very similar interests to mine; while others are a contrast.  I like reading a blend. It was unexpectedly difficult to narrow my list to 15.

Order merely based on the chronological list in my browser.  Don’t be elated or offended at being number 1, 8, or 15!

First, to show how versatile I am 😉 Here are some of my other blog-quaintenances who do not regularly publish book reviews.

  1. Lynn – posts beautiful daily photos rich with color and texture in her blog.
  2. Shannon blogs about teaching sixth grade… though I first found her via a book review she posted.  This age range fits with my own 2 kids, so I’ve kept my subscription active.
  3. Ivynettle blogs from Austria via Letters and Leaves, about plants and sometimes books.  She works in a garden centre and has a fabulous balcony garden.  Danke fuer das Wort ‘Scheissbegonien‘ – it still makes me laugh when I see them.

Book Bloggers

  1. Lighthearted Librarian’s Weblog: LL is, you guessed it, a professional librarian and a source of to-be-read ideas.
  2. Leslie at Under my Appletree is an avid reader, and also gardener and photographer.  We’ve exchanged a handful of book comments and garden comments. I always like her photos – birds in her garden.
  3. Janice  is known as Janicu, which is pronounced Janice-sue. She and I seem to read and review a lot of the same books. I always enjoy the insights she brings up.
  4. Curiocat is Angela, and she is a writer and book-blogger.  I particularly enjoyed her post contemplating reverse sexism.
  5. Geeky Girls Love SciFi – I don’t get over to blogspot as often since google ate my account, but I like to visit here when I do.
  6.  April runs CSI: Librarian with panache, reviewing lots of spec-fic. And she has an awesome avatar.
  7. The Little Red Reviewer book-blogs about SF and Fantasy. She and I have commented back and forth a bit over the past 18 months.
  8. Judith (leeswammes) Judith posts book reviews and some photos, and lives in the Netherlands.
  9.  Yvann has a book blog at Reading Fuelled by Tea. She lives in London. London, England: not London, Ontario, in case anyone’s puzzled.
  10. Clare at the Literary Omnivore is based in Georgia (USA not the republic-of). Book-blog with very well-spoken opinions.
  11. Calico Reaction is over at livejournal.  Yep, I don’t leave WordPress too often, but if I do it’s frequently to visit Calico.
  12. Thomas publishes book reviews and discussions at his Archaeologist’s Guide to the Galaxy. I particularly liked his lengthy yet impromptu discussion with S.M. Stirling recently.

Bibli facts

Here are seven facts about me. If you frequent my blog, you’ll notice that I do blog mostly about books and not about ‘me’… so here are new facts for the net.

  1. I tend to the needs of two cats and a fat black labrador retriever – Jenny-Ji, Bumps, and Bobo (not their real names). As for humans, I share the pet responsibilities with my husband and our two sons.  We have additional small pets in varying numbers over time – most numerously guppies.
  2. I am a software consultant.  I’m happiest solving problems and making things… whether that’s in designing, troubleshooting, or blogging.  In the previous decade, I was writing software.  Now, I work with the people who use it, or at least I work with IT in those companies.  I used experience with this book-blog as a springboard to get my work blog going.  If you’re a lawyer in need of document management software, or looking for an IT consultant in a more general area, give it a click.
  3. I love acting – so I indulge annually in auditioning for one community theatre production for the before-Christmas season.  Yes, it’s an insane amount of time to devote to an unpaid hobby in a three-month period, but it’s just something I’ve really, really enjoyed since I was like, eight years old. I’m in The Mousetrap this fall.  Year before last, I was in Bedfull of Foreigners, showing off my self-taught German accent.
  4. I like to garden, when I am not too busy with all my many other things going on.  Speaking of gardening, what’s with the uncharacteristic popularity of my three posts about my dappled willow? I have hundreds of book reviews here, and would you believe ‘willow’ is the single top search term driving traffic to me?  And yet, no one has ever commented on that post… Sigh.
  5. Obviously, books are big with me.  I still much prefer reading hardcopy instead of electronic, but… it is awfully tempting to have my current book living on my iPhone.  I acquired my DRM-free Vorkosigan library and read it compulsively. I’ve already passed the hundred-novels-read mark for this year
  6. I learned to play the bagpipes in ninth grade.
  7. I can wiggle my ears: both, or one at a time.  Not quite flap-like-a-bunny, but still more than most humans.
, , ,

  1. #1 by lynnwiles on September 25, 2011 - 10:57 pm

    Thank you so much, I’m truly touched by this and hope to follow through.

  2. #2 by readingwithtea on September 26, 2011 - 3:23 am

    Thanks for passing it on to me!

  3. #3 by janicu on September 26, 2011 - 10:03 am

    Thank you! That’s a nice way to begin a dreary Monday. 🙂

  4. #4 by Leeswammes on September 26, 2011 - 1:18 pm

    Thanks for the award. Very kind!

  5. #5 by Leslie on September 26, 2011 - 1:59 pm

    Thanks for the award, it was a nice surprise.

  6. #6 by Ivynettle on September 26, 2011 - 4:13 pm

    Thank you! What a surprise!

    • #7 by Sandy M. on September 29, 2011 - 8:30 am

      You are very welcome. I like the idea of this meme jumping across from the book blogs to the houseplant blogs. Cross-pollination, you might say.

  7. #8 by Shara @ Calico Reaction on September 26, 2011 - 10:43 pm

    Thank you so much! And hey, I’m also on WordPress now, if that’s more convenient for you: http://calicoreaction.wordpress.com/

    • #9 by Sandy M. on September 27, 2011 - 8:15 am

      Well, hey, yes, there you are. Is there some thingie to copy posts automatically from one to the other as they appear, or do you do it by hand?

      • #10 by Shara @ Calico Reaction on September 27, 2011 - 6:21 pm

        When I first opened the account, there was an import function for all of my existing reviews. Since then, it’s been by hand, since I use a slightly different format for WP than I do LJ. 🙂

  8. #11 by curiocat on September 28, 2011 - 3:05 pm

    Oh, my goodness! You made my day, I’m thrilled. I’m in Maryland this week with the eldest daughter Holly who’s not feeling too well. I’ll be home soon and

  9. #12 by curiocat on September 28, 2011 - 3:06 pm

    ready to blog some more. Lol. Accidentally hit the post comment. Sorry. But thanks, this is great and I’m thrilled to share the award with so many talented people.

    • #13 by Sandy M. on September 29, 2011 - 8:29 am

      It’s nice to be able to pass the thrill along to others. Enjoy 🙂

  10. #14 by lightheartedlibrarian on October 14, 2011 - 9:23 am

    Thanks for the award! You made my day!

Leave a Reply

