Pack of Lies – Laura Anne Gilman

Pack of Lies - Laura Anne GilmanJoin the Puppy Pack.

Stars: Three and a half of five.

Review format: Brief note.
Summary: Sequel to an earlier book Hard Magic, Pack of Lies follows Bonita (Bonnie) Torres in her extrasensory sleuthing along with co-workers in PUPI. PUPI stands for Private Unaffiliated Paranormal Investigations.   They look into crimes involving Talented humans or fatae (fae). 
From goodreads: My name is Bonita Torres, and eight months ago I was an unemployed college graduate without a plan. Now I’m an investigator with the Private Unaffiliated Paranormal Investigations team of New York. Pretty awesome, right?
The Cosa Nostradamus, the magical community, isn’t quick to give up its secrets, though. Not even to fellow members. Not even when it’s in their best interests. So we’ve been busting our tails, perfecting our forensic skills, working to gain acceptance. The team’s tight… but we have our quirks, too. And our Big Dog, Benjamin Venec…well, he’s a special case, all right.
But we can’t give up. We’re needed, especially when a case comes along that threatens to pit human against fatae. But one wrong move could cost us everything we’ve worked for…. 
Provenance: Borrowed the e-book from my local library and read it on my iPhone.
Date Read: Early May 2012. 

Well, hello again blogging world. I thought that this book was interesting enough to warrant breaking the long blog silence… because it’s the first I’ve read by this author, and I did enjoy it. I’ll want to look for others by her.

As a second book (I’m guessing it’s going to be a series) – there were many references to what’d happened before in the founding of this pack of ‘puppies’.  In this case, the extra backstory made me a little slower to build momentum in reading. But eventually I got pulled in by the investigation, and by the likable descriptions of the young investigators.

The plot engine was based on an attack on a ki-rin’s companion and immediate retaliation by the ki-rin… ki-rin being a Japanese magic creature similar to a unicorn in that it has one horn and pairs with a ‘pure’ human.

Sparks (both romantically figurative and paranormal) start to fly between Bonnie and her boss Ben Venec. That was nicely described and helped to round out the story beyond just the who-and-why-dunnit murder mystery.

Links and others’ reviews

Other related good stuff and reviews  (added by me, not generated)

—.~.~.~.—

Want me to link to your review too? Let me know in a comment, and I can add the link here.

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

